Acquired skills

  • CCN1 – Core Gas Safety (Now includes Combustion Performance Analysis- CPA1)
  • MET1 – Domestic Gas Meters
  • CKR1 – Gas Cookers and Hobs
  • HTR1 – Gas Space Heaters (Gas Fires)
  • CENWAT – Domestic Gas Central Heating Boilers & Gas Water Heaters (An updated combined qualification that replaces CEN1 & WAT1)

Price: Call us 02035984609

Duration: N/A

Course outline

Gas Safe Engineers who are involved in the maintenance, repair and installation of domestic gas appliances need to be qualified in their areas of specialisation. The CCN1 course and ACS Gas training Assessment ensure that the Gas Engineers hold expertise to work in their relevant fields, and are able to carry out all the gas safety measures.

The Nationally Accredited Certification Scheme (ACS) has been recognised by the industry as an eligibility criterion to acquire a certificate of competence in order to be affiliated with Gas Safe Register. Once you complete your ACS assessments, you are awarded with ACS qualification. ACS qualification is valid up to a period of 5 years, after which you are required to apply to become a member of Gas Safe Register independently.

CCN1 course is an integral part of ACS assessment, and students aspiring to specialise in the area of domestic gas installation and appliances are required to take the CCN1 training course. The CCN1 gas course trains the students to develop all the necessary gas safety skills for using an appliance.

CCN1 covers all aspects of Core Domestic Gas Safety with the addition of combustion performance analysis.

CCN1 gas course also includes the comprehensive learning about relevant gas appliances, regarding their commission, installation, breakdown, exchange, repair, disconnection and service. The appliances covered under the CCN1 gas course include:
– MET1 –Meters
– CENWAT –Central heating Boilers and Water Heaters up to 70kW net
– CKR1 –Cookers
– HTR1 –Space Heaters (with the inclusion of Wall Heaters and Gas Fires)

Gas assessment consists of various testing methods, which include observed practical assessment, multiple choice questions, scenario questions and short written answers.


Entry requirements


–         Category 3 Candidates – These include new entrants who do not have the professional experience of working in the gas industry and do not have any national gas qualifications. The candidates, in order to register for ACS assessment, need to qualify in a managed learning program like APL, and should have on the job experience of working under a qualified Gas Safe Registered mentor.

–         Category 2 Candidates – These include individuals who have nationally acknowledged qualification related to gas trade and can provide an evidence of their on the job experience of working under the supervision of qualified mentors, who are a member of Gas Safe Register. The candidates need to present the required evidence and may also be interviewed.

–         Category 1 Candidates – These include individuals who have qualifications for gas fitting. In order to appear for ACS assessment, you need to present the evidence of their qualification for gas fitting or certificate of gas safety competence, to the Assessment Centre. The certification or qualification may be issued inside or outside the UK. The date of the issuance may exceed the 5 year legitimacy period.